My Umbrella Cockatoo is biting my husband and my daughter...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Re: My Umbrella Cockatoo is biting my husband and my daughter...

Post by mama2babygirl on Tue May 13, 2008 11:57 pm

Thank you Lyric! Smile I have tried lots of new things with her, but I guess shes just picky From what I understand the guy that had her only gave her Cockatieal seed . I'm trying Parrot Supreme with her, so far so good! She just picks though it and eats what she finds she likes . I am still learning her, we got her from an elderly guy that really has too many birds and can't and hasn't taken care of them in a very long time. His health is poor and when I say lots of birds I'm talking like 300 of them down in his basement!! Babies to breeders, all kinds! I did find out she LOVES peanuts and apples:!:
But so far thats about it. Thanks for the info I'll try a few of them. Very Happy
mama2babygirl
submission happy
submission happy

Female
Number of posts : 87
Registration date : 2008-05-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post by Lyric on Tue May 13, 2008 11:20 am

That's great news mama2babygirl! If everyone in the family keeps working with her you should be able to make more progress with time.
As far as foods go- absolutely no chocolate, alcohol, avocado, caffeine. Try to avoid anything sugary, salty. Stuff with high vit a is great, like sweet potato, carrots, squash. Dark leafy greens like kale, mustard greens, collard greens are great. I make stir frys for my birds with brown rice, squash, carrots, kale, different kinds of beans. I actually make this for myself for lunch and feed it to the birds too. They love it. Sometimes I cut up sweet potato and add that too. Lyric likes oatmeal too- make sure it's not too hot but still warm and feed with a spoon- they love this, reminds them of being babies.
Lyric
Can't touch this!
Can't touch this!

Female
Number of posts : 170
Registration date : 2008-04-24

View user profile